Its been a long time since I have hit an old ruin and I was fortunate enough to get an invite from a friend of mine Warren aka Wild Colonial Boy. He told me I had to be at his house early as we had to meet the farmer so he could show us where the old ruin was situated. This always gets me excited because it usually means it is in a hidden tucked away spot and the chances of it never having a detector over it were quite good. We followed him down a winding road through his property for about a couple of km and through a few gates before his brake lights lit up and we came to a halt right beside what was left of the house that would have once been someones pride and joy. It was quite a picturesque morning with the dew dripping off of everything as the sun filtered through the big old gums that looked like they had stood up to quite a few storms over the years.IMG_3539IMG_3541

It is hard to not rush things when you are about to hunt an old site but we took a few moments to look around before gearing up for what was to be a great day. I waited for Warren as to let him choose what area he wanted to go to before I set off towards some old trees just to the side of the old ruin. Instantly¬† the CTX 3030 screamed out and a solid 12:36 tone ID was on the screen, a quick dig and out came a nice early 1898 South Australian dog tag. It was a good start but I quickly realised that the occupier of the house must have loved shooting with the next 10 or so targets all being either spent shotgun cartridge ends or something else to do with a bullet of some description. I moved from this area and started to get some interesting finds with the first being a really neat buckle made by Bent & Parker who formed a partnership at Harper’s Hill Works, Northwood Street, Birmingham in 1863. In 1900 they Incorporated as a limited company became known for whistle making before in 1914 they became government contractors, manufacturers of military ornaments, badges, buckles, buttons, helmet and belt furniture. They also by this time employed 200 to 300 people. So it could very well be of military origin.3

There was again a flow of shotgun casings before a solid 12:45 grabbed my attention as I automatically expected coin of some description but instead it was another interesting relic that had Cameo Cigarettes on it. I am unsure as to what it is but it looks like it could have been a wheel off of some type of advertising prop. Cameo Cigarettes were also formed in the late 1800’s so I am unsure of a date.IMG_35488

There was a steady flow of coins and relics throughout the day with the best being an 1883 Victoria shilling that was along the edge of the old road probably right where someone parked their horse & buggy. It always amazes me how fast time goes and it seemed like only a few hours but with the temperature dropping we realised that the short winter day was upon us and it was time to head off.IMG_3550101415

Until my next adventure I wish you all well and happy hunting, remember to fill your holes.

