I finally caught up with the owners of a property I have been wanting to detect around and was given a green light. It was a very old place from the mid 1800’s but unfortunately it has been used for storage and therefore it was littered with junk everywhere. I was working an area by the front of the house that wasn’t as trashy when the CTX 3030 screamed with that sound we all love to hear, a nice small pinpointed target always gets me excited before I dig. As I wiped the dirt away I recognised that it was an 1886 Jubilee Of The Wesleyan Methodist Church South Australia medallion, what a score as the previous one I had found was badly corroded. It was in pretty good condition and you could clearly see a bust of John Wesley from around the 1730s, what a great start.

http://museumvictoria.com.au/collections/items/70276/medal-jubilee-of-the-wesleyan-methodist-church-victoria-australia-1886 

The targets were few and far between but I managed a couple of dog registration tags from the early 1900’s, an 1862 half penny, manufactures plate from Moffat Virtue Ltd and part of a silver watch before deciding to head of and find another site that wasn’t so littered with trash. Moffat Virtue Ltd were very instrumental in improving shearing machinery in the early pioneering days of Australia and by 1914 ‘Moffat-Virtue’ was a household name in rural Australia.

http://adb.anu.edu.au/biography/virtue-william-wright-13228

The next spot was a bit of a surprise because I was driving past the farmers block when I noticed some bulbs that had come up recently, a tell-tale sign that a house may have been there at some point. It was late and time was limited but after only about 45 minutes I had managed a cricket buckle, an awesome button, a barrel tap and some relics. This will have to wait for another blog later but I will certainly be going back to see what else is hiding in the dirt. Happy hunting and research, research, research it is the key.